2015 Emmy Nominations: Reactions

I gotta be honest, I had no clue that the nominations for this year’s Emmy Awards were coming out today. And if we were to be even more honest, I’d say that I really don’t watch as much current TV – that being shows still producing and airing new episodes – as I should if I call myself a TV enthusiast.

I say this because I want to clarify that some of my opinions will not be full-fleshed as I haven’t seen a good majority of the nominated works. I fall into the habit of Netflix-bingeing old shows, pretty much from the last fifteen years or so, that I may have been a little too young for during the original airtime. Current shows that everyone still raves about are still on my To-Watch list, but what I watch all depends on my mood.

You can see all of the categories for this year’s awards here.

Now, some of my thoughts about the nominations:

  • I am SO excited that Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt, particularly Tituss Burgess, got some love! If you haven’t already watched this Netflix comedy series co-created by Tina Fey, I highly recommend it. It does have an odd, potentially offensive sense of humor, so it may not be for everyone, but there’s no harm in trying it out! I am a little surprised that Ellie Kemper wasn’t nominated, but there’s always next year.
  • There were as not as many nominations for five-time Outstanding Comedy winner Modern Family as usual. While it protected its perennial spot as a Comedy nominee, the show’s only acting nominations were for Ty Burrell and Julie Bowen – in the past, practically all of the adult cast members were nominated every year. I take it as a sign that the show is slowly coming to its end, or at least the end of its powerhouse era. I’ve actually been surprised the last two years or so that the show still won Best Comedy. It just always seemed that a new, edgy comedy had come along to steal the title, but Modern Family always comes through. I think it’s still possible that it could win again, but I’m rooting for Kimmy Schmidt and some final recognition for Parks and Rec.
  • Same goes for Downton Abbey. It has always garnered a spot in the Outstanding Drama category (although I think it spent its first few years in the Mini-Series category for some reason) and several acting nominations. This year, it only gained an Outstanding Drama nod and recognition for Jim Carter and Joanne Froggatt. The show’s last season premieres in January in the U.S., so this decrease in nominations isn’t really a surprise if you consider the impending end and the show’s change in quality since it began. I am still a loyal fan, but I think anyone would agree that nothing has lived up to the first two seasons.
  • Bravo for Viola Davis’s Lead Actress in a Drama nomination. I watched the first few episodes of How to Get Away with Murder with friends this year, and I lost interest in the actual show because it ultimately wasn’t my thing, but Viola was always what brought back my attention.
  • Tumblr always lets me in on the plight of Tatiana Maslany never being nominated, so I hope the fans are enjoying her long-awaited moment in the spotlight!

I’m actually going to be out of the country on Emmys night, so I may be relying on YouTube and Tumblr to catch up on the must-see moments. What about you? Are there any nominations you’re excited about?

One thought on “2015 Emmy Nominations: Reactions

  1. Pingback: Reactions to 2016 Emmy Nominations | Bookworms and Fangirls

Leave a Reply

