My Fictional Bucket List

This is a fun little challenge I’ve seen so many book bloggers and vloggers do over the past year or so. The concept is to make a bucket list – a list of things you want to do before you “kick the bucket” – but the items listed take place in a fictional world that originates from your books. I started keeping a fictional bucket list way before I started a blog, but now I have a platform to share my top five things on this list! Here we go!

  1. Spend a summer at Green Gables and then a summer at Ingleside (Anne of Green Gables series, by L.M. Montgomery) – Anne Shirley’s beloved home on Prince Edward Island has definitely been the fictional place I’ve wished myself off to the most (although PEI is real, folks!). I love old-fashioned homes tucked away on country roads, and to spend a lazy yet picturesque summer in Avonlea would be amazing. Ingleside, the home where Anne and Gilbert Blythe raise their children, has the same appeal as the Weasley family’s Burrow had for me in Harry Potter – a chaotic, loud home filled with love and laughter. Major props to my girl Lucy Maud for creating such alluring homes!
  1. Attend a ball at Netherfield (Pride and Prejudice, by Jane Austen) – I must be a sucker for books set in the countryside, because the idea of attending a ball with all of the townspeople in P & P sounds so fun! Plus, I think that going to a ball at Netherfield would be even more exciting because everyone in the vicinity is so used to much less extravagant affairs. And a dance with a proper English gentleman? Don’t mind if I do!
  1. Attend a Hogwarts feast and go shopping in Diagon Alley (Harry Potter series, by J.K. Rowling) – Don’t mind me, I’m just crying over pictures of the Wizarding World of Harry Potter. One day I will visit the theme park and hit up Diagon Alley and Hogsmeade, but for now I can always imagine being a Hogwarts student picking out her first wand and indulging in the legendary school Halloween feast. Save a pint of butterbeer for me down in Florida!
  1. Sit in on Mia Thermopolis’s Gifted & Talented class (Princess Diaries series, by Meg Cabot) – Many of Mia’s journal entries are written during this class meant for special students to perfect their talents. While Mia claims that she was put in the class to improve her low algebra grade, the rest of class includes Boris the violin-playing prodigy, Lilly the social activist, and Michael the prospective engineer, among others. The teacher hangs out across the hall in the faculty lounge during class, and the kids are pretty much left to their own means. I always thought it was awesome that Mia was tossed into this joke of a class with her closest friends and could pass the time with anything she wanted to do. Albeit, this was before I was in high school and was familiar with the concept of study hall. I’d love to be a fly on the wall and just watch everybody do their thing, as creepy as that sounds.
  1. Have a sleepover with Alice, Pamela, and Elizabeth; visit the Melody Inn and have dinner with Lester (Alice series, by Phyllis Reynolds Naylor) – I talked about this series in my Influential Authors post and I still reverberate how underrated it is. The books take place in present-day Maryland, perhaps the most typical place ever, and the characters are the kind you could easily find in real life. Yet, perhaps that’s why I would love to hang out with them. Alice, Pam, and Liz are your typical best friend trio, and I’m always up for a girly night with close friends. The Melody Inn is Alice’s dad’s music store where she worked for several years, and Lester is Alice’s older brother who eventually gets a Masters in Philosophy. I don’t have any older brothers or male cousins, so having a young guy always looking out for you like Alice had is something unknown to me. Thus, I think sitting down to dinner with Lester would be a very interesting and funny experience.

What about you? What would be on your fictional bucket list?

Leave a Reply

