What’s New

I’ve still been trying to figure out what kind of features to include on this blog and how I should maintain a regular posting schedule. Hopefully all of this will be resolved before school starts up again.

But for now, I thought it’d be nice to update you with what I’ve been reading and watching lately! Summer is a great time to explore different literary genres or start a new show on Netflix, and I’ve definitely been getting into new kinds of entertainment this year.

What I’ve Been Reading:

I’ve gone away on a lot of short trips this summer, which give me an ample amount of time to read without the Internet distracting me. I’m one of those lucky people who can read in a moving vehicle without getting sick, so long car rides always equate to enjoying a good book! Recently, I finished Why We Broke Up, by Daniel Handler (who was Lemony Snicket in a past life) and I was actually pretty disappointed with it. As a major movie buff, I really dislike it when authors create their own film and celebrity culture within their books. Also, I just couldn’t connect with the writing style. You can read more of what I thought in my Shelfari review.

I also recently bought The Cuckoo’s Calling, by Robert Galbraith, also known as J.K. Rowling! I’ve heard a lot of positive feedback about this book, especially from the readers who didn’t enjoy The Casual Vacancy. As someone who did like Casual Vacancy and has always been iffy about crime novels, I’m a little more cautious about The Cuckoo’s Calling but still have high expectations for it. I’m about 75 pages in so far and look forward to getting more into it.

What I’ve Been Watching: TV Edition:

After finishing Lost, I was left in this desperate state of “I need more”. I immediately wanted to find another TV series that would hook me in, change my life, the whole she-bang. So, in search for another television manifesto,  I watched the first episode of Sherlock after years of my friends telling me to watch it. While I really enjoyed the episode’s cinematography, the onscreen text, and Benedict Cumberbatch’s portrayal of Sherlock Holmes, I finished the episode feeling kind of meh. However, the amount of praise this show has garnered is enough to persuade me to keep watching. So we’ll see.

I then turned to another show on my to-watch list, Friday Night Lights. I’m currently about seven episodes in. Although I have some major issues with the character Lyla (I still can’t figure out if it’s the character or just Minka Kelly’s annoying baby voice that’s fueling my hate), I like the show so far. I’ve been meaning to watch it ever since reading Sarah Dessen’s blog and seeing her gush about it.

Of course, I do have some slight problems with it. I have trouble relating to the hype and devotion surrounding the Panthers football team, probably because I went to a Northeastern, Catholic high school where football wasn’t really a big deal and now go to a college that doesn’t even have a football team. Plus, I just don’t get the game itself. Like. At all. I know, I know, this makes me an awful American. But FNL has proven to be so much more than just football and deals with all of that “oh, snap!” drama you’d expect to see on a teen soap opera, à la One Tree Hill or Degrassi. However – and this is why I’m sticking with the show – it is subtle with dramatic portrayals and also focuses on adults, which is why it’s better than a typical teen drama. Plus, the character Matt Saracen is just adorable and such a good person – I’ve found my new fictional crush!

What I’ve Been Watching: Film Edition:

I haven’t been watching a lot of movies lately, and have actually just been making a checklist of films to rewatch before going back to school. Kevin Sullivan’s TV movie Anne of Green Gables is my favorite book-to-movie adaptation ever, and it has been ages since I last watched it. It was originally released as a two-part miniseries, so it’s a bit of a beast to get through in one sitting. But watching this film just makes me so happy! The casting is wonderful and the adaptation is quite faithful to L.M. Montgomery’s book (unlike the two sequels Sullivan later made). Other potential rewatches are Les Miserableswhich I haven’t watched since I first saw it in the theater, and the 2005 version of Pride and Prejudiceanother favorite film I haven’t seen in awhile.

As for movies currently out in theaters, I’ve been dying to see Boyhood. Directed by Richard Linklater, this movie was filmed over the course of twelve years with the same exact cast. The audience watches these people literally age on screen, handling the common occurrences and issues that life deals out. Boyhood sounds exactly like my type of film and it also comes across as one of those movies you just need to watch on the big screen. I’ve also heard that it serves as a very nostalgic time capsule for people in their late teens and early twenties who grew up in the early 2000s, so it seems like a great treat for viewers my age.

What have you been reading or watching lately?  

 

One thought on “What’s New

  1. It’s hard to find a show to follow up the greatness of lost!! Boyhood sounds like something worth seeing in theaters, definitely landed on my to do list:D

Leave a Reply

